Official website - European Cup Winter Throwing - Castellón - 16/17 March 2013
Welcome to the Official Website - European Cup 10.000m - Bilbao - 3.6.2012


Competition Rules

more information

Web Oficial de la Asociación Europea de Atletismo - AEA

Web Oficial de la Real Federación Española de Atletismo - RFEA


       European Cup Winter Throwing was born in 2001. From them till 2004 it was primary known as European Throwing Challenge. Long throwers (discus, hammer and javelin ones) never had the opportunity of participating in international competitions during winter due to these disciplines cannot be held in indoor facilities. European Cup has fulfilled this empty. Competition is very well fixed in the international calendar and is always held in March. This fact maintained motivation and preparation of international throwers during winter with the aim of competing in the Cup. In addition, shot put, an event that is also programmed in indoor competitions, is joined to the trio of long throwings.

       Cup has been traditionally held in countries with a favorable climate during winter. The first edition was disputed in French city of Niza, second in Pula in the Croatian cost, and then it moved to Gioia Tauro, in the South of Italy. In 2004 it was disputed in Malta and next year, under the new name of European Cup, in the Turkish city of Mersin. Next sites included Tel Aviv (2006), in the first international competition celebrated in Israeli soil; Yalta (2007), in the Ukrainian coastal side of the Black Sea, and Split, again in Croatia (2008). In 2009 the Cup was celebrated for the first time in Spain, in Tenerife, specifically in Los Realejos stadium and Puerto de la Cruz throwing facility. This was the first international competition held in Canarias soil. Arles, in the French Blue Coast, was the venue of this competition in 2010. In 2011 Sofia, Bulgarian capital, was the site and finally last edition was celebrated in Bar, in Montenegro, also the first international competition organized in this new country.

       In 2007 Under'23 category was included in the competition. In addition, European Cup has also countries classification despite other athletes could compete in an individual basis. This classification till 2006 was obtained by the sum of points of the performances. Two athletes by country and event were taken into consideration and the country must summed in the four events. Starting in 2007, with the inclusion of the Under'23 competition, only an athlete per event is taken into consideration, always with the condition of sum in the four throws. There are men and women classification, in absolute category and in the Under'23.

       By countries, the main success one in history of this competition has been Russia, with 18 golds medals by teams. Half of the titles disputed during these years have been for the Russians who have summed a total of 32 medals. Germany has achieved a total of 21 medals, 6 of them golds. Ukraine follows with 13 medals (8 golds). Italy with 15 medals but only 1 gold and Belarus, country with a very long tradition in throwings, with 8 medals. In total, 13 countries have gained medals by teams.

       The main outstanding athlete of the competition is Estonian Gerd Kanter, who has achieved six victories in discus throw during 2003 and 2009. Kanter was Olympic champion in 2008 and world champion in 2007. Dutch athlete Rutger Smith dominated four times the shot put (2003 to 2008). Also Hungarian hammer thrower Krisztian Pars has won three times the competition from 2004 to 2011, an athlete who proclaimed last year European and Olympic champion in this discipline. Other illustrious European throwers who have known the victory in this competition included Slovenian Primoz Kozmus, hammer winner in 2007 and Olympic champion in 2008, or Polish Szymon Zyolkowski, winner in 2006 and Olympic champion in 2000.

       Among women, eight athletes share the honor of having the highest number of victories. These are Belarus Nadezhda Ostapchuk and Ukrainian Vita Pavlysh in the shot put; German Nadine Müller and Romanian Nicoleta Grasu in discus; in hammer Moldavian Zalina Marghieva and in javelin Ukrainian Vira Rebryk, German Steffi Nerius and Russian Mariya Abakumova. We must also underline winners of the European Cup and also Olympic champions: Russian Natalya Sadova in discus, Russian hammer thrower Olga Kuzenkova and Polish hammer thrower Kamilia Skolimowska, winner in 2005 and who have conquered the Olympic title the previous year.

       Miguel Villaseñor

participants participants
Date City Edition SR S23 SR2 S232 ATHLETES COUNTRIES
17/18-03-2001 Niza (FRA) 1st European Cup 80   71   151 21
09/10-03-2002 Pula (CRO) 2nd European Cup 99   76   175 26
01/02-03-2003  Gioia Tauro (ITA)  3rd European Cup 71   66   137 25
13/14-03-2004 Marsa (MLT) 4th European Cup 71   76   147 27
12/13-03-2005 Mersín (TUR) 5th European Cup 89   85   174 30
18/19-03-2006 Tel Aviv (ISR) 6th European Cup 86   82   168 28
17/18-03-2007 Yalta (UKR) 7th European Cup 68 28 68 30 194 28
15/16-03-2008 Split (CRO) 8th European Cup 84 37 86 22 229 34
14/15-03-2009 Los Realejos (ESP) 9th European Cup 72 47 72 35 226 29
20/21-03-2010 Arles (FRA) 10th European Cup 83 83 72 42 280 30
19/20-03-2011 Sofía (BUL) 11st European Cup 67 58 71 52 248 33
17/18-03-2012 Bar (MNE) 12nd European Cup 80 62 83 57 282 33
16/17-03-2013 Castellón (ESP) 13rd European Cup


Year City-Country Facility Results
2001 Niza (FRA) Parc des Sports Charles Ehrmann RESULTS
2002 Pula (CRO) Stadion Veruda RESULTS
2003 Gioia Tauro (ITA) Stadio Polivalente di Gioia Tauro RESULTS
2004 Marsa (MLT) Saint-John Athletic Stadium RESULTS
2005 Mersin (TUR) Tevfik Sırrı Gür Stadyumu RESULTS
2006 Tel Aviv (ISR) Hadar Yosef Stadium RESULTS
2007 Yalta (UKR) Stadion Miskyi RESULTS
2008 Split (CRO) Stadion Park mladeži RESULTS
2009 Los Realejos, Puerto de La Cruz (ESP) Estadio Municipal de Los Realejos, Zona de Lanzamientos de Puerto de La Cruz   RESULTS
2010 Arles (FRA) Stade Fernand-Fournier RESULTS
2011 Sofia (BUL) National Sports Academy RESULTS
2012 Bar (MNE) Sportski centar Topolica RESULTS
2013 Castellón (ESP) Polideportivo Municipal Gaeta Huguet / Pista de Atletismo Universitat Jaume I RESULTS

Best performances of tthe competition

All winners - event by event

Teams classification

National Records [by Györgyi Csiki]


Spanish History

National Partners, National Suppliers, Instituciones