Official website - European Throwing Cup - Gran Canaria 11th / 12th March 2017




ENTRY LIST - Preliminary



Competition Rules
Implements List
Preliminar Entries
Participating Federations


Web Oficial de la Asociación Europea de Atletismo - EA

Web Oficial de la Real Federación Española de Atletismo - RFEA


    European Cup Winter Throwing was born in 2001. From them till 2004 it was primary known as European Throwing Challenge. Long throwers (discus, hammer and javelin ones) never had the opportunity of participating in international competitions during winter due to these disciplines cannot be held in indoor facilities. European Cup has fulfilled this empty. Competition is very well fixed in the international calendar and is always held in March. This fact maintained motivation and preparation of international throwers during winter with the aim of competing in the Cup. In addition, shot put, an event that is also programmed in indoor competitions, is joined to the trio of long throwings.

    Cup has been traditionally held in countries with a favorable climate during winter. The first edition was disputed in French city of Niza, second in Pula in the Croatian cost, and then it moved to Gioia Tauro, in the South of Italy. In 2004 it was disputed in Malta and next year, under the new name of European Cup, in the Turkish city of Mersin. Next sites included Tel Aviv (2006), in the first international competition celebrated in Israeli soil; Yalta (2007), in the Ukrainian coastal side of the Black Sea, and Split, again in Croatia (2008). In 2009 the Cup was celebrated for the first time in Spain, in Tenerife, specifically in Los Realejos stadium and Puerto de la Cruz throwing facility. This was the first international competition held in Canarias soil. Arles, in the French Blue Coast, was the venue of this competition in 2010, in 2011 Sofia, Bulgarian capital, was the site and 2012 edition, celebrated in Bar (Montenegro) was the first international competition held in this new country. Spain host the Cup again in 2013, in Castellon, and after this the competition travel twice to the Portuguese city of Leiria. The last edition was held in Romania in 2016, in the city of Arad.

    In 2007 Under'23 category was included in the competition. In addition, European Cup has also countries classification despite other athletes could compete in an individual basis. This classification till 2006 was obtained by the sum of points of the performances. Two athletes by country and event were taken into consideration and the country must summed in the four events. Starting in 2007, with the inclusion of the Under'23 competition, only an athlete per event is taken into consideration, always with the condition of sum in the four throws. There are men and women classification, in absolute category and in the Under'23.

    Regarding countries, the most successful team has been Russia, with a total of 24 gold medals of the 52 collective titles in the history of the competition. Russia has achieved a total of 44 medals, ahead of Germany with 30 (10 golds), Ukraine with 20 (9 golds), Italy with 18 (only 1 gold) and Belarus, country of great throwers, with 10 medals. A total of 16 countries have achieved medals in this competition with 9 countries winning at least one title.

    The great individual winners of the competition have been Estonian Gerd Kanter and Hungarian Krisztian Pars, with six victories each one in discus (between 2003 and 2009) and hammer (between 2004 and 2016). Kanter was Olympic champion in 2008 and World champion in 2007 and Pars was also OIympic Champion in London2012 and twice European champion in 2012 and 2014. Dutch Rutger Smith achieved four victories in the shot put between 2003 and 2008. Other outstanding throwers in this European Throwing Cup have been Slovenian Primoz Kozmus, winner of the hammer in 2007 and only one year later Olympic champion in this discipline; Poland Szymon Zyolkowski, winner of hammer in 2006 and Olympic Champion in 2000 and his team mate Pawel Fajdek, also winner in hammer in 2014 and World Champion in 20013 and 2015.

    Among women we can underline the four victories of the German discus thrower Nadine Müller, between 2010 and 2015. Other six athletes have achieve three victories in the senior competition: in shot put Belarus Nadezhda Ostapchuk and Ukranian Vita Pavlysh; in discus Romanian Nicoleta Grasu; in hammer Moldavian Zalina Marghieva; and finally in the javelin German Steffi Nerius and Slovenian Martina Ratej. We also have to mention the winners of the European Cup who have been Olympic Champions: Russian Natalya Sadova in discus; in hammer Russian Olga Kuzenkova and Poland Kamila Skolimowska, winner in 2005 and Olympic champion the previous year; and Anita Wlodarczyk, winner in 2008 and 2009 and Olympic champion in 2012 and 2016. Also double Olympic Champion Croatian Sandra Perkovic, dominated the discus competition Under 23 in 2010 and 2012.

       Miguel Villaseñor


Año City-Country Facilities Results
2001 Niza (FRA) Parc des Sports Charles Ehrmann RESULTS
2002 Pula (CRO) Stadion Veruda RESULTS
2003 Gioia Tauro (ITA) Stadio Polivalente di Gioia Tauro RESULTS
2004 Marsa (MLT) Saint-John Athletic Stadium RESULTS
2005 Mersin (TUR) Tevfik Sırrı Gür Stadyumu RESULTS
2006 Tel Aviv (ISR) Hadar Yosef Stadium RESULTS
2007 Yalta (UKR) Stadion Miskyi RESULTS
2008 Split (CRO) Stadion Park mladeži RESULTS
2009 Los Realejos, Puerto de La Cruz (ESP) Estadio Municipal de Los Realejos, Zona de Lanzamientos de Puerto de La Cruz   RESULTS
2010 Arles (FRA) Stade Fernand-Fournier RESULTS
2011 Sofia (BUL) National Sports Academy RESULTS
2012 Bar (MNE) Sportski centar Topolica RESULTS
2013 Castellón (ESP) Polideportivo Municipal Gaeta Huguet RESULTS
2014 Leiria (POR) Municipal Stadium - Dr. Magalhães Pessoa, National Throwing Centre (CNL) RESULTS
2015 Leiria (POR) Municipal Stadium - Dr. Magalhães Pessoa, National Throwing Centre (CNL) RESULTS
2016 Arad (ROU) Stadium Gloria 1, Stadium Gloria 2 RESULTS
2017 >Gran Canaria (ESP) Stadium Martín Freire, Municipal Stadium Vecindario RESULTS

»» All winners - event by event

»» Teams Scores

»» Senior National Records [por Györgyi Csiki]

»» Under 23 National Records [por Jirí Ondrácek]


»» Spanish History

Patrocinadores, Instituciones y Colaboradores